Earthlinked 5 Ton Issue
Last Post 28 Jul 2010 06:54 PM by JackH. 85 Replies.
Printer Friendly
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Page 2 of 5 << < 12345 > >>
Author Messages
Veteran Member
Veteran Member

--
22 Jun 2009 11:52 AM
I have no direct experience with DX but I have a question for the OP the answer to which might narrow down the problem:

The symptom of interest is the "Blazing hot" return line from the ground loop. If the 5 ton unit has been off for awhile (several hours or more) and then turned on does the rise in temperature of the return line to "blazing hot" happen fairly quickly, say perhaps 5-10 minutes, or slowly such as over an hour or more of continuous operation.

If it happens fast I'd look for some refrigerant plumbing problem allowing some or all of the gas to bypass the ground loop. If it happens slowly, taking an hour or more then I'd think about it being underlooped or a ground contact / grout problem.

If you can lay a hand on each loop's supply and return line during operation, feel for temps. Each should be hot going out and cool coming back. The temps on the two ton's system lines are probably a good reference to judge each individual loop on the 5 ton's lines.

I third the motion to try soaking the ground near the loops as a diagnostic test.

Curt Kinder

The truth is incontrovertible. Malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end, there it is - Winston Churchill

www.greenersolutionsair.com
Veteran Member
Veteran Member

--
22 Jun 2009 09:18 PM
What might be interesting is the original zone loads. Do you have them? Earthlink only has a 5 ton max.
Still interested in your thoughts on loop pick Clark.
J

Joe Hardin www.amicontracting.com We Dig Comfort! www.doityourselfgeothermal.com Dig Your Own Comfort!
Basic Member
Basic Member

--
22 Jun 2009 09:52 PM
6 ton

Veteran Member
Veteran Member

--
22 Jun 2009 10:09 PM
Posted By geo fan on 06/22/2009 9:52 PM
6 ton